Give. Advocate. Volunteer. Live United.

Board of Directors

Board members meet monthly to further the strategic work and mission of Capital Area United Way (CAUW). They take seriously their fiduciary responsibility to make sure the resources that are entrusted to the organization are wisely used as a result. CAUW board members actively participate in committees that help carry out the work of the organization.

Board members are volunteers from across the service area of Hughes and Stanley counties. There are 25 board members, who may serve a maximum of two three-year terms. Of the 25, there are four student members chosen from grades 10-12 within the student bodies of the Pierre and Stanley County school systems. Student terms run from June through May, lasting through the student’s senior year.

Each year the board elects a President, First Vice President, Second Vice President, Secretary, and Treasurer, who serve as the Executive Committee. The Executive Director is an appointed position, serving at the pleasure of the Board, and an Ex-Officio member of the Executive Committee.

The campaign chair, an individual or couple selected from the community, is appointed each year by the President, with the approval of the Executive Committee, and serves as an Ex-Officio member without voting rights.

Executive Committee

President Dayna Hepper Delta Dental
1st Vice President Jessica Hanig Beck Motor
2nd Vice President Jenny Bernhard Delta Dental
Secretary Tony Mangan State of South Dakota
Treasurer Brittany Kost BankWest
Immediate Past President Pat Anderson Anderson Dental

Board of Directors

Chris McConnell Black Hills Federal Credit Union
Sadie Goodman Pierre School District
Dennis Ryckman Factor 360
Kaylie Rathbun Stanley County Student
Laura Ringling Department of Social Services
Nicole Gordon Bankwest
Dr. Marty Allison Avera Medical Group Pierre
Meredith Lee Lee Real Estate
Kyle Anderson BIT
 Andrea Beck All Around Graphix
 Mike Gibson Bankwest
 Emma Lusk Riggs High Student